Brand new and seeking AVR help!

9 Replies

I'm brand new to the game and a potential buyer I had been in contact with told me that he likes investing in and flipping houses with "70% AVR or less minus restoration costs". What exactly does he mean by that in easy to understand terms?

Thanks!

I think you mean "ARV", or after repaired value. This is the assessed value of the property after all repairs are done. If the ARV is $100k, your total investment, including your purchase price, materials and labor for the repairs, should be no more than $70k. That would allow you to pull out $30k at resale (or at refinance if you are holding it), minus closing costs of course. Make sense?

He means that he finds the After Repair Value of the house using the price of comparable houses that have sold within say a 1 mile radius and within a short time-span and estimates the cost of repairs and works that into his offer. 

I believe so, Joseph! Just to make sure though:

So if Zillow estimates that the house is worth $100k (given that there's nothing wrong with the house), he's saying that he wouldn't want to pay more than $70k? (Which would include purchase price and all restoration costs)

@Kyle Brown I wouldn't go off of Zillow to estimate the retail value of the house.  You want to look at comps which are the properties nearby that have sold, that's a better estimate of the resale value + look at how long it took those homes to sell.

Also the most important part of flipping and wholesaling is being able to estimate repair costs correctly.  You'll hear a lot that "you make your money when you buy" meaning that you need to negotiate a good deal.  The podcasts on Bigger Pockets and J Scott's book on Flipping Houses are both excellent resources.  I hope that helps!

Originally posted by @Kyle Brown :