Do I need a CRM(Podio) in the beginning stages?

14 Replies

Hello everyone,

I have a quick question.  I have sent my first yellow letter campaign out a few days ago and have gotten a few calls from tire kickers.  I'm wondering if I should get a CRM set up or just simply track my results from a spreadsheet for now?

Thank you very much

P.s. Looking at Podio, it seem a bit overwhelming... Maybe because I've been looking at my simple little excel spreadsheet a lot.

Hi Benjamin,  

I'm a beginner too. I've done a couple of campaigns and I did not have a system in place and I regret that, because now I am playing catch up as far as my follow up is concerned. I agree that Podio can be overwhelming because it was for me, so I actually enrolled in a CRM system called REI blackbook. And while REI blackbook is a great system, the monthly fee could be spent on marketing.

So, now I am considering investing the time necessary to learn Podio and transfer all of my information but, I have a phone number connected to REI blackbook and I run the risk of losing those leads if I cannot transfer that number to a different answering system. The basic Podio system is free so I highly recommend that you take the time at the front end to learn it and set it up to work the way you want to just to get your leads in order and set up a follow up system. Then later if you find something else that you want to pay for once you've done some deals then do that.

To your success

Val

Hey @Valerie Fulford thanks a lot for your input.  It seems like the logical thing to do would be to learn it right now like you said.  I would hate to fall behind and have to do it in the future.  I will be creating an account today.  Thanks a lot for your advice.

How is your business going btw?

Here's a list of CRM alternatives

I'm noticing the CRM and Project Management software are intertwined - - the concepts are not and they are quite different in needs and data requirements.