Wholesaling question for seasoned investors

15 Replies

I'm new to wholesaling and figured BP is one of the best places to get your questions answered by experienced investor who live and die by real estate. My question for everyone is how do you figure out how much earnest money you put down??!! I'm reading everything from $1 or $10. So what is everyone preferred method...

If you are actually debating between $1 and $10, does it matter? Unless you plan on forfeiting a lot of EMDs because you couldn't "close", even $10 isn't all that much money to lose.

If you are debating between the $1 wholesaler EMD verse the $5-10,000 EMDs that a lot of house buyers put down, then my guess is most wholesalers put down as little as possible, while most sellers want as much as possible. Just remember on the flip side, when you want your wholesale buyer to put down an EMD on your assignment, he too will want to put down a small amount of money, while you will want more. It's all part of the negotiations.

I only use those numbers when the seller wants to wholesale. Meaning I tell the seller that wholesaling is their best option and they agree. In that case putting a deposit makes no sense because everyone knows I am not buying the property.

When I buy the property myself, I can put whatever they want on it (within reason), because my contract protects myself. If I sign a contract I plan on buying the property, so unless there is something wrong with the property itself, I am not worried about losing my deposit. And if there is something wrong with the property, then according to  my escape clause, I can pull out, without losing my deposit.

How many idiots can you find that will take $1 or $10 for that matter? Would you take $10 earnest money on any house you own? 

I'm just starting to gather all information for running my first direct mail campaign. Any advice or knowledge BP family want to pass along to make it a little more successful...