Wholesaling in FL with and without a RE License

52 Replies

Hi BP!

I'm new to the world of REI and have some questions in regards to wholesaling with and without a RE license in the state of FL.

So I've been reading A LOT on this topic and the more I read the more questions I have. 

Is it illegal to practice wholesaling without a license in the state of FL? When does it become illegal? 

I read it becomes illegal when you start to market the property publicly like on craigslist without a license since you don't actually own the property, right?

However, if you have a buyer's list and you're marketing only to them, is it still consider illegal? 

If you do have a RE license, would you need to hang your license with an investor-friendly broker if you're only wholesaling? Would broker fees apply as well? What would be the best approach? 

Hey welcome to the wonderful world of real estate investing. 

First things first: You DO NOT need a license to wholesale or invest in general. If you have a property under contract you can 100% market THE CONTRACT but not the "house" technically. You do have an equitable interest in the property no matter what people try to tell you.

You are going to learn really fast that most Real Estate Agents don't know jack about real estate other than MLS listing so listening to agents (in many cases your competition) about rules when it comes to investing is a terrible idea in most cases.

IF you get your license it will help and hurt you so make sure you know the pro's and con's before spending all that money to get your license. Yes you will need to hang it if you plan on using it and yes you will have to pay the fee's just like an agent does. You will also need to be aware of the rules each broker has because some will be a pain in your *** and have rules about how you can do deals (some not all).

Feel free to ask me any questions you have. I'll do what I can to make sure you don't get bad info.