Trustee Sale vs Foreclosure?

10 Replies

Good morning all,

Let me preface by saying that I am brand new to wholesale real estate.  I went on my county's tax website to see foreclosures and was brought to a page that lists filed Notices of Trustee Sales.  Am I able to reach out to the grantor to try to get the property under contract, or am I misunderstanding this process?  (I know that people enjoy giving condescending and sarcastic responses, but some polite answers would be greatly appreciated.) 

Ha ha ha, you are so right.  Some of the answers are condescending and sarcastic.  Sorry about the laugh.  It just struck me as funny when I read that.

While I'm not an expert on Trustee Sales in Texas.  My guess is that there are deals there by reaching out to the owner.  The challenge that I'd expect is that the owner has probably been inundated with legal notices and mail from investor/buyers that sometimes they simply ignore everyone.  It may not make sense.  Since an investor is hoping to help the owner.  The entire process can be so overwhelming that they bury their head and hope the problem goes away.  Which it does when they are kicked out of the house.  Hard but true.  

Another thing to keep in mind is that if there is a Trustee Sale scheduled.  You may be up against a time crunch.  I'm not trying to discourage you.  However, these are life happenings.

As I said at the beginning.  There probably are some deals there............Good luck!

I don't think Texas has any law against it..  CA WA OR do though.. or specific ways to deal with those in foreclosure I should say.. I think Texas is wide open.

I have done a lot of pre foreclosure work in my day when you could legally do it the way 95% of us did it in those days.. now its not legal.