LLC vs Umbrella Policy

3 Replies

I have seen several old post on the pros/cons of having an LLC and umbrella policy. I was hoping get some recommendations on whether or not I should seriously consider starting an LLC (California resident) and/or umbrella policy. I am relatively new to investing will have 4 units within the month. Does it make sense, financially, to start an LLC?

@Ramon Vazquez , LLCs is good for separating your assets into different legal entities so that they are not all exposed to the same liability. Umbrella policies are good for paying off a judgment should you lose and paying for legal expenses should you get sued. They accomplish different things. What is best for you is highly dependent on your situation. That is further complicated by the fact that LLCs are VERY expensive in Cali compared to pretty much the rest of the country.

@Ramon Vazquez

There are several considerations that can go into the analysis of whether you need an LLC or whether a large insurance policy will suffice. Will depend on several factors like the type of property, type of tenants, your risk tolerance, other assets you own, your estate planning, laws where the property is located, etc.

Any lawsuits would be limited to the assets of the LLC and not your personal assets (assuming you run the LLC appropriately and the corporate veil is not pierced). But, an LLC will not limit you from liability in total. You can still lose your investment in the LLC.