First meeting with a lender

10 Replies

Hey everyone,

I'm just starting out and getting my ducks in a row, so to speak, I hope to line up a RE agent, lender, and insurance broker to use primarily as my "team" that I go to. I have my first meeting with a lender on Wednesday. It is a portfolio lender that I was referred to by my RE agent. Initially, I thought I would just have an informal discussion about my plans to rehab distressed properties and either sell them, or rent them. At first, I would probably use HML for the acquisition, and then refi if it were to be a rental. After a general overview, I would ask if they were interested and had any products that would suit my needs.

The more I think about it, I'm wondering if I should submit a business plan that outlines the LLC, the members of the LLC, goals, strategies, etc. At the end I would attach a few spreadsheets of real properties with estimated rehab costs, holding costs, etc. That way he knows exactly how I will be doing my DD when analyzing a property. I would give it to him printed professionally in a binder.

Thoughts?  Am I overthinking it at this stage, as I was initially going to see if he'd at all be interested in this?

Thanks!

--Jason

Moderator--could you please move this to the "Starting Out" forum.  While my question is about a business plan, I believe it should be over there.  Not sure what I was thinking.

Ask the lender to send you a loan application?

@Kirk R.  

Thanks.  My goal was to build a bit of a relationship and understanding first.  That's where I was kind of going with the question.  My thought was familiarity with my plans and goals would go further than just showing up as some stranger off the street.

However, sometimes the simplest answer is correct.  Thank you for the input.

@Jason 

@Jason Krick  undefined