I met another wholesaler in my area

4 Replies

I met another wholesaler in my area who is more seasoned than me and willing to work with me (I’m a “newbie”).

Tomorrow we have our first meeting, my job is to help him find cash buyers to match with some current homes he has contracts for.

I’m ecstatic of course and he knows I’m a newbie. I’m just wondering if there’s any advice anyone could give in regards to if I should bring anything, what research should I do prior to, am I thinking about it too hard? Lol

Hi @Londyn Garner ! Welcome to BiggerPockets and also to the wonderful world of wholesaling!

If I understand you correctly, he's already got contracts and you'll be trying to sell these deals to cash buyers. If so, you should analyze the dickens out of those contracts to ensure that they actually are deals!

You should be asking your seasoned wholesaler questions like:

• Are these buy-and-hold deals or fix-and-flip deals?
  • How did you determine the price to pay the seller?
  • How did you determine the price you're asking from the buyer?
  • How did you determine that this deal makes sense to a buyer, from a financial standpoint? What are the specific metrics used (for example, many buy-and-hold investors look at cash-on-cash return). 
  • How much time do we have to find a buyer?

If your wholesaler can't answer questions like these, run away!

Finding serious buyers is pretty easy when you have great deals, and dang near impossible if you don't.

Thanks so much for the help! 

@Londyn Garner If you are looking at this from the perspective of finding a mentor/internship...

•Make sure they have a history of success.

•Make sure their history includes failures (a good mentor had some failures that have significantly strengthened their ability to succeed and thus their ability to coach you to succeed). 

•Find out his system and his success rate.

•Ask about deals that have been a bust and deals that have gone really well.