Estimating market value for a property

5 Replies

Hey guys,

I am still a newbie so I apologize in advance if this isn't a very intelligent question.

I am looking at a potential property with price say $600k (3 plex , 4000 sq ft MF) and asked my realtor for the comps to see if I am buying below or at market fair value (of course I want to buy below). The comps were for 3 different properties that were all 2000 sq ft 3plex mf sold at 500k. so the realtor concluded that I am buying below market price (if they accept my offer) and expects that it actually goes at 675-680k. He did so by using the $/sq ft and using a much lower price per footage doing the comparison.

Is this approach correct? If not, could you please recommend a better approach to get the market value of the property?

thanks

@Georges Arnaout

it's a fine approach though I'd question it's accuracy. Have you run your own set of comps in the area? Realtor.com, Zillow and the local town offices have the information you need. If you are looking in Medford, I'd venture there are at least 10 comps that are almost exactly the same size as your perspective purchase.

@Georges Arnaout the cash flow valuation method is used most often to determine values on multifamily properties.

Here's the simple formula for illustrative purposes:

Gross rents - expenses = Net Operating Income X cap rate = estimated value

If you know what the gross rents are, you can use the 50% rule to estimate the expenses. Add another 10% for PM if you wont' do it and another 10% if you pay for water.