albany ny

9 Replies

I am a newbie. I wanted to buy a multifamily house in Albany NY.I just need an advice where is the good area to invest in Albany? I saw so many multifamily for sale under $100 thousand in 12209, but not sure if it is a good catch. Rental is around $650 minimum.

hi Mary. 

I'm going to make up a word here but Albany is very "neighborhoody."  

By this I mean that even though we are a small city, there are clear lines as to the right places to invest. Sure you can find rental properties under 100k still but they most certainly will not be in a desirable area.  There are many strategies to investing in real estate, and I won't say any one is better than another, but I think you get what you pay for and no one wakes up in the morning wanting to be a slumlord.

@Mary june Martillo  

Welcome. Time to build the foundation below.

Check out the Start Here page http://www.biggerpockets.com/starthere

Check out BiggerPockets Ultimate Beginner's Guide - A fantastic free book that walks through many of the key topics of real estate investing.

Check out the free BiggerPockets Podcast - A weekly podcast with interviews and a ton of great advice. And you get the benefit of having over 70 past ones to catch up on.

Two Great reads, I bought both J. Scott The Book on Flipping Houses,The Book on Estimating ReHab Costshttp://www.biggerpockets.com/flippingbook

Locate and attend 3 different local REIA club meetings great place to meet people gather resources and info. Here you will meet wholesalers who provide deals and all the cash buyers (rehabbers) you will need.

To find out about an area go to IREM.org search for ARM certified property managers. Call 5 ask them what sides of the city they like/dislike and why. Ask what they see them selling for and what expenses are by category. Ask if they know anything coming up for sale.