getting started tips

8 Replies

Hello,

I am new to bigger pockets.  I am reading through the beginner guide to real estate investing.  The guide has a chapter on creating a business plan.  Is it crucial to have a complete business plan before attempting to invest? I know what my niche will be and preferred investment strategy.  Is there a certain amount of time I should dedicate to education before seeking out my first deal?  Where can a beginner get practice on evaluating deals? Just seeking some guidance/advice.

Thanks,

Norma

@Norma Cole  I am somewhat in disagreement with this portion of the ultimate guide.  Newbies often get all hung up on the following stuff: building a team, getting an entity, developing a marketing plan, setting up a website, designing a logo, choosing a company name, etc, etc, etc.  And they get stuck hear at this stage, messing around with stuff that is really not necessary.  Keep it simple and start finding good deals.

Thanks so much for you response Bryan.  I really want to get involved and although I know it is important to at some point have a business plan my focus will definitely shift away from as you stated (finding good deals).

Thanks again,

Norma

Hi Norma,