Getting Ready to Buy My First Property

12 Replies

I've been renting for my first 5 years out of college and investing in my landlords' futures. I'm an engineer in the commercial construction industry moving from Boston to CT in 6 weeks and want to start investing. 

My current plan is to invest in my personal residence by buying a rehab, living in it during construction for about 2 years, with a large amount of the work done myself, then selling and repeating. I plan to go with traditional financing and an agent for the sake of simplicity on my first purchase. I am looking for a deal that is 70% of ARV minus rehab costs and I know that calculating ARV and rehab costs accurately are very important.

Although I feel like I don't even know enough to ask the right questions yet, I want to start asking questions early and avoid learning things the hard way. Are there other investment options/strategies I should consider? What are points of failure that I might overlook?

One of the first things you might miss with your strategy might be not accurately anticipating the rehab costs.  I recommend poking around on the site for a while, or better yet, check out J Scott's book "The Book on Estimating Rehab Costs."  I just finished it this weekend and  highly recommend it.  It has a lot of good info in terms of how much you'll need to budget for different aspects when it comes to repairing a house.  Your costs will be less than some of the ones he quotes, but if you at least tally up all the work and go in assuming that some parts will have to be performed by another contractor then at least you won't be surprised.  Your idea is a great one, just make sure you're realistic on what it will take to fix whatever you buy!