Wanting to Start

12 Replies

I am currently a senior civil engineering student and once I graduate I would like to start REI, I would like to start out with SF homes and possibly getting into multi-family. I would like to start getting my "team" set up now so I can hit the ground running once I graduate. I have began going out and searching the internet for home prices and rental prices in my area (Denver area). My biggest constraint is capital which I am sure is a lot and this is my reasoning for waiting to start once I graduate. I figure a lender would be more willing to loan to someone with a full time job as opposed to a college kid. When it comes to buy and hold homes is it typically harder to find investors (non financial institutions) to work with you since they are not getting the quick and direct payout like with fix and flip? What are some of the ways to raise capital outside of taking out loans with a bank when trying to get into buy and hold properties?

Chris 

Hey @Chris Shipman  !  Glad to see another fellow civil engineer on the site.  Sounds like you have the same thought process I did a few years ago when I graduated.

I would definitely recommend getting a full time job if you are interested in building a buy-and-hold portfolio as you will make your life much easier when it comes to getting financing. 

You're right, it is typically harder to find private money that is willing to loan on a long term basis, especially if you don't have a track record.  My first property was a seller financed deal since I was somewhat lacking in the capital department.  I think seller financing is a good strategy to pursue if capital is a constraint.

Good luck and welcome to BP!

Thanks for the feedback I will definitely look into that. I know they had mentioned it a few times on the podcast but I will delve a little deeper into it.

Originally posted by @Chris Shipman: