Best Real Estate Investing Book?

8 Replies

Hey Everyone,

I'm new to the forum and new to REI. I love the site and have found so much useful information. I am hoping to get some recommendations for your favorite book on investing. I purchased my first home in February of this year and am looking buy and hold properties in the future but I am interested in any good real estate reading.

Thanks

I have many favorites. "The Complete Guide to Buying and Selling Apartment Buildings" by Steve Berges is a great book. "The Book on Flipping Houses" by J. Scott is another one. For a beginner here on BP, I'd recommend reading both "The Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Real Estate Investing" and "Investing in Real Estate with no (and low) Money Down" by Brandon Turner.

Just use the search function- this has been covered before and that are lots of lists you can look over.

I'm also just getting started in REI so I suppose take my advice with a grain of salt. IMO wholesaling would be a good strategy for you to start with because it encompasses facets from all realms of real estate investing. From how to properly structure deals, conduct negotiations, running comps, and many other skills...wholesaling involves it all. A great book I read is "The Wholesaling Bible" by Than Merrill. Not only does it touch on wholesaling but it gives an awesome blueprint of treating investing as a business and not going from "deal to deal". I highly recommend checking it out. Also I found that Biggerpockets shines as a beacon of knowledge for experienced and novice investors alike. Find members who have a proven track record of success and read post by them. Best of luck to you.

Thanks for the feed back, Pete i found some other posts with good reading information in it. I decided to start with the BiggerPockets book as my first read but am looking forward to reading all of your suggestions.

@Ryan Charboneau