Re: Investor Advice for Starting Out

14 Replies

Good Afternoon,

I am a teacher interested in entering real estate. I have a two year goal that I have set for myself to save a least $40,000. However, a colleague of mine recently advised me that she was told that money up front was not necessary in order to turn an immediate profit. She mentioned to me that an individual that she met advised her to get a list of foreclosures, contact interested investors, and simply act as a "middle man" between the investor and the homeowner. She would be responsible for securing the transactor for the investor and helping to relive the owner of the soon to be foreclosed property. She would be able to "write in her transaction fee" for 10k or so dollars. Is this true? This sounds rather too easy, and if so, why aren't there many other investors participating in this sort of deal?

Thanks in advance for your feedback! It is greatly appreciated!

Hi Dominique, and welcome to the site! What you're referring to is called wholesaling, and it can work approximately as described. The trick is FINDING all those wonderful properties, and at such a price that an investor will purchase it from you. Investors want to pay (ideally) 70% of what the property would be worth fixed up, minus repair/update costs. In reality, that percentage fluctuates a bit, but that's the rule of thumb. As you can imagine, if someone owns a home worth say $100K that needs $20K to fix it up to that level, they may or not be inclined to let you have the house for $50K-ish ($100Kx70%-$20K repairs). Wholesalers help people with their individual situations and generally require a certain type of seller, thus the challenge of finding properties. Check out the BP Podcasts and look for ones regarding wholesaling; in addition, there is a TON of good information here on the site if you dig around. Again welcome, best of luck, and have fun!

not as easy as it sounds.