Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Mark Updegraff
Property Manager
  • Investor
  • Rochester, NY
Votes |
Using a buyer's agent versus contacting the seller's agent every time and why REALTORS need a special level of TRUST with their "investors"

Mark Updegraff
Property Manager
  • Investor
  • Rochester, NY
Posted Feb 22 2015, 09:21

I'm a licensed broker here in Upstate NY and I'm amazed at the lack of understanding that new investors have when it comes to agency.  A close colleague and mentor in the business put it quite simply when I shared my frustrations with time sucking clients who then turn to the listing agent to write an overpriced offer on a terrible investment.   He said, "My friend, they don't care if you put steak on your table or hamburger helper"

As someone who points out all the flaws, runs conservative pro formas and struggles to attain REAL deals for my clients, it drives me absolutely bonkers when something like this happens.  What the "investor" doesn't realize (but will down the road) is that the listing agent just wants to sell THAT property.  They don't care how it compares to anything else.  They just have to get the seller and the buyer to come to terms on price, it is completely irrelevant to other opportunities.  Sometimes overpriced properties don't sell because the seller is un-realistic about it's value.  Enter seller's agent to sugar coat things and sell investments that are more like an anchor for a capital starved young investor.  

I'll give a recent example of how this situation may play out for those investors that believe always contacting the listing agent is the best way to "get a deal"