Newbie in Bay Area

10 Replies

Hi members,

I am new to BP. Have read some articles over the years. Looking to start heading down this path into a more dedicated full time mode over time. I have been listening to the podcasts and reading. I am looking for guidance and mentorship in the Bay Area (where it seems impossible to start). Everyone says start in your background, but with prices in the $700k-$1M range I don't see how.

I work in the valley at a high tech company in a successful leadership role and have run my own businesses in the past. Looking to make a life change.

Everyone talks about a San Jose meetup. Can someone share the details? I am looking to meet and speak with others in the Bay Area who have started with no experience and are willing to share their stories. Coffee/lunch is on me.

Thanks,

C

@Claude Robinson III

Welcome.  Search meetup.com for local meetings.

Locate and attend 3 different local REIA club meetings great place to meet people gather resources and info. Here you will meet wholesalers who provide deals and rehabbers (cash buyers).

Two Great reads, I bought both J. Scott The Book on Flipping Houses, The Book on Estimating ReHab Costs http://www.biggerpockets.com/flippingbook

Download BP’s newest book here some good due diligence in Chapter 10. Real Estate Rewind Starting over

http://www.biggerpockets.com/files/user/brandonatbp/file/real-estate-rewind-a-biggerpockets-community-book

Good Luck

Paul 

Claude,

Welcome to Biggerpockets.  You have found a free on-line real estate goldmine.  Start digging.  Like anything in life, you get what you put in.  

It's a good thing that you don't see how people can invest in the Bay Area.  That means less competition for us.  Woohoo!!!

@Johnson H. hosts a monthly meet-up in North San Jose.  It's free to attend.  Here is the link.

http://www.meetup.com/SF-Bay-Area-Real-Estate-Investing-Club/