Is it better to use a title company or real estate attorney to close?

11 Replies

I am new to REI and I have a wholesale deal under contract in Kentucky. Now what? Should I find a title company or real estate attorney? Should I have a buyer in place before I pay for a title search? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I use an attorney. I get free advice and use them for trusts, wills, llc formation, and more

I wonder if the prevalence of using an attorney vs title company varies by region.  I've never even heard of using an attorney when buying property (unless it's some huge complicated purchase), and we've bought properties in CA, AZ, and CO.  We always use title companies.  They research the title of the property and you get title insurance showing that if they screwed up and there's a problem with title that they should have caught, they'll pay for it (well, their insurance will pay for it).

Edit to add: this is something that none of our real estate agents has ever even asked us about when we bought property.  It was always just a given that we'd use a title company (which is typically chosen by the seller).

Originally posted by @Clay Smith :

I use an attorney. I get free advice and use them for trusts, wills, llc formation, and more

Clay I was thinking of using an attorney as well. Do you know if there is a huge cost difference between a closing attorney and title company? Can you recommend one in Louisville? I was going to try a double closing or maybe even a back to back closing. Do you do many wholesale deals or are you mostly buy and hold?  Sorry to bombard you with questions but you seem to really know what you're talking about.

Originally posted by @Kimberly T. :