Investing while paying child support

11 Replies

HI...hopefully someone can help answer this questions. I would like to get into real estate, either flipping or rentals but I have a major concern, I owe child support which I pay regularly every month religiously. I am concerned that the Enforcement agency will place a lien on anything I buy with my name and social security number. I have great credit rating of 777, and I am a retired veteran. my questions are the following:

Can I buy investments homes under my name and social security?
If not can I create a LLC and buy under the company name and EIN#?

If none of these options are viable is there another legal way of doing so?

Thank 

Alex

As long as you are paying your child support on time, there is no issue.  Nobody is going to place a lien on anything UNLESS OR UNTIL, you fall behind.

So yes, with a credit score of 777 and steady income, you'll qualify for anything the numbers will support according to the limits of your DTI and down payment.

Yes, you might be able to buy through an LLC, but most lenders will require you to personally guarantee the loan of a brand new LLC.

Ok would it matter how many properties I purchase? Or am I limited to any specific amount or quantity?

Originally posted by @Alex Carbonell :

Ok would it matter how many properties I purchase? Or am I limited to any specific amount or quantity?

That's a question best answered by your mortgage broker.  Your income and cash on hand will be your most limiting factors with traditional or portfolio loans.  Hard Money Lenders have only the property valuation and cost to rehab as their limiting factors

Child support is just another debt, like a student loan. No big deal.

If you are using traditional financing (Freddie or Fannie lending) you can have up to 4 or 10 mortgages. Make sure you check first if they will count tenant rent as income because some require you to have been a landlord or owner for 2 years.