CFP certificate - yea or nay?

6 Replies

Does anyone have any recommendations as to whether becoming a certified CFP would A - be helpful, and B - be worth the cost and time (approx. 6 classes over 1 year at $4000 total)? I am wanting to get into RE investing part-time to start out, and possibly full-time in the future. I am currently exploring the option of getting my RE agent/broker license in order to help me break into investing (I'm currently a public school teacher), but I had someone recently suggest that I should become a certified CFP instead. Any thoughts?

Hi Mark,

I presume, by "CFP" you're referring to a Certified Financial Planner ??

Medium 23 koru homes llc logoSteve G., Koru Homes | 904‑410‑4088

Yes, but I'm no longer considering it, and I was actually never seriously considering it. I think I mentioned to you @Steve G. that I'm going to be getting my real estate license by the end of November, and then working as an agent as I learn all that I can about real estate in general as well as investing. CFP is off the table.

Hi Mark,

I'm a CFP and can tell you it has almost nothing to do with real-estate investing.  A CFP is to financial planning as a CPA is to accounting.  Additionally, you will need to work in the financial services field for 3 years before you can use the designation.  I think the real estate license would be a better use of time for a real estate investor.

Adam

Adam Anderson CFP, Jersey Home Rentals, LLC | [email protected] | 9739173904 | http://www.morrisretirementadvisors.com

Originally posted by @Adam Anderson :

Hi Mark,

I'm a CFP and can tell you it has almost nothing to do with real-estate investing.  A CFP is to financial planning as a CPA is to accounting.  Additionally, you will need to work in the financial services field for 3 years before you can use the designation.  I think the real estate license would be a better use of time for a real estate investor.

Adam

What he said !