Multi Family Rental

11 Replies

Hello BP,

I am looking to purchase my first investment property in Baltimore by using a FHA owner occupied loan. I currently live in DC and I am a licensed realtor in DC and MD. I want to know what are the best areas in Baltimore for buy and hold. Should I buy at a discount and rehab using the 203K? Also being though I am just starting out should I rent to section 8 holders or W-2 tenants only? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

"Also being though I am just starting out should I rent to section 8 holders or W-2 tenants only?"

fyi: Fair Housing Regs prohibit consideration (read exclusion) of the tenants source of funds - - we may only verify sufficient funds( typically X times the rent) are available.

However, given my choice, I would opt for W2 income, or self-employed persons with bank statements as proof.  If you look into Sec-8, the property must be inspected, qualified and the 'appropriate lease' enforced - - hmm(hint), what happens if I never get qualified?

Originally posted by NA Beard:

"Also being though I am just starting out should I rent to section 8 holders or W-2 tenants only?"

fyi: Fair Housing Regs prohibit consideration (read exclusion) of the tenants source of funds - - we may only verify sufficient funds( typically X times the rent) are available.

Nope not in MD. Currently you can choose not to rent to section 8. I suspect the J Beard is referring to a CA specific law 

@Damien Dupee best is relative. Some people want nicer neighborhoods believing they will have fewer problems and possible appreciation. Some investors want to maximize cash flow and are willing to go into lesser neighborhoods.

If you choose the lower end route, I recommend section 8 tenants. In poor neighborhoods you will likely have more problems collecting from market tenants.

In general think you are better off buying fixer uppers and gaining sweat equity by renovating. (PS not your sweat, pay someone to sweat for you)

@Ned Carey