Getting financed with an LLC

11 Replies

Hello BP, this is my first time posting I'm new to investing and I want to buy and hold properties, my question is, Is it hard to get Finace with an LLC, and should you get an LLC before you actually purchase your first property.

Welcome to BP.

The short answer is that cheap government subsidized money from Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, FHA, etc., requires the purchase be by a human buyer, not an entity (LLC). From a financing perspective, for your first set of properties, it is easier to put the property in your name.

Don't get an LLC for a single family purchase. Put it in your own name. If you are worried about liability, get an umbrella insurance policy, plus regular insurance for the rental property. Make sure the umbrella insurance policy is at least 1 million. That should cost you about $400-$500.00 a year. If someone sues you, they'll for the insurance that has the bigger pockets. No pun intended :-)

Right now I have 46 front doors and soon to be 55-60 front doors. Presently, I have a 2 million umbrella policy rand will be upping that to 4 million soon. That will cost me about $1500-$2000.00 a year. No brainer. I do have an LLC for each apartment complex. That is for other reasons that are too convoluted to discuss here. Single family NO LLC. I see no reason for one.

Have a great turkey day all!!

Swanny

Using an LLC to protect assets doesn't make sense when you don't have a lot of assets. LLCs change your financing options to commercial only. They also change your insurance options some in my experience. You can go talk to a bank about your ability to get a commercial loan, that is who you would be dealing with if you get an LLC. A commercial loan is based on the property. We have a 6 unit and they looked at the performance of that property for financing as well as our personal finances. For buy and holds it is different then Flips so if you have interest in reno/flips there may be different input.