My First Auction- Advice Needed!

11 Replies

Hi- I found out about a property that will be on my county’s courthouse steps in a couple weeks. I own another unit in this development. Lived in it for the first 5 years and have rented out for the last 5 years. Very familiar with the units and this development is increasing pretty rapidly in value.

I want to try and get this unit but I have never participated in this type of in person auction. I have the cash to purchase it and I am working on figuring out my max offer (using BP tools)even though I will not be able to view property prior to auction. Want to flip it bc doubt I could get it low enough to rehab and hold (BRRR). Nashville too hot for that many times.

Any advice on figuring out the max offer, the actual auction, or really anything dealing with this?? I have called the HOA to find out if delinquent there. Can get my title company to run title search (I’m an agent so have one that will do that for me). Anything else I am not thinking about as part of my due diligence? How do you estimate repairs on unseen properties? Any and all advice is appreciated! Thanks for your time.

Kelly

@Kelly Kormos   I would suggest contacting the current owner and offer to buy it from them.  The market is hot, I doubt they are upside down on the property.  You might get a good deal.  If not you might get into it to see it and figure out more about how much it is worth.

@Michael Biggs What do you do after you talk with the owner ? How do you stop the auction process ? Do you go through an attorney ?
Thanks for the advice :)

@Nina Ibrahimbegovic   I would close (including payoff of the mortgage) before the auction.  Of course, this would require a true cash purchase.

@Kelly Kormos , I reckon if you can't "get it low enough to rehab and hold (BRRR)", and you don't know "How do you estimate repairs on unseen properties" in order to Flip it, you could be asking for trouble.