Best Way For New Real Estate Agent To Learn Buy&Holds

6 Replies

Hi BP,

I am trying my hand at wholesaling and finding deals for the next few months but I dont want my eggs in one basket so I will be getting my license soon as well. My end goal is to get buy and holds/self storage. Essentially the end goal is passive income. My question: what are the best first steps for an agent to be successful as well as the best way to prepare myself for passive income investments while im an agent so i can get the most out of the experience? Im trying to get myself exposed to as much of the field of real estate as possible so I can see which specific opportunity I want to throw my full weight into. I make 50k at my current job if this info helps.

Cody, Welcome to BP. Exciting times to be getting started and taking action. 

Question for you: have you started to attend local meet-ups? Identified local investors / storage owners? Established a baseline of what each will be looking for from a subject property? etc... Your market is certainly is different than ours here in Grand Rapids, MI. 

Frankly since you're targeting self-storage, I'm not sure if this approach would require commercial focus. I would think so. 

BP is fantastic for finding local investors and networking, as well as analysis tools; however, not sure if self-storage analysis tools are available. Good luck... Hope these thoughts will help you get started. 

I encourage you to take courses specifically designed for buy and hold investing in Michigan and join an association that has other investors doing what you're doing in the area you're doing it and have the ability to ask questions of their staff and their attorneys.  Contact me via direct message if you want to know more.