House hacking: upper versus lower end of my budget?

6 Replies

Hello Everyone, I’m new to Bigger Pockets and looking to start my first house hack later this year in the Boston area, which is a tough market. I’m in a position where I can either aim to buy closer to Boston at the low end of an excellent area (at the top end of my budget) or I can buy in a reasonable area (North of Boston) in the middle of my budget. From the numbers, both areas typically won’t cash-flow positively at first given my down payment, but it really depends on the specific property. I think aiming for the middle of my budget makes more sense, but is there an advantage to buying in an excellent area at the top of my budget?

@Christopher C. Evans

Some folks say buying the worst house in the best neighborhood is the way to go and I agree.  I believe a rising tide lifts all boats.  

I say go for closer to Boston. With millennials wanting to purchase closer to an urban core, you'll have buyers for years if you want to sell.

This article I linked to differs with my opinion and it reads a little like one of my favorite books, Think like a Freak by Steven Levitt and Stephen Dubner.  

https://qz.com/340500/why-you-shouldnt-buy-the-wor...

Hi @Christopher C. Evans