• Rental Property Investor
  • Overland Park, KS
Votes |
My Recommendation: A simple way to start

William S.
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Overland Park, KS
Posted Sep 2 2018, 07:36

This post is for someone looking to purchase their first deal and who wants to keep things simple.

I've been investing for around three years now. Initially I had no one to help me. I did my own research, took the plunge, learned by trial, made mistakes and along the way attracted a fantastic realtor @Marcus Auerbach, PM, contractors, banks which was a game changer. Below is what I wish I would have done starting out....

Quick Summary of Below - Househack in a great area, buy some dividends.

Property Type - Househack

Buy a duplex, triplex, or fourplex to rent in and live in one of the units. If you buy a duplex, try to put down 20%. If you buy a fourplex, use 3.5% down FHA. More units = more income that can allow you to cover more debt.

Location - Only high end

Buy the property in and A/B class neighborhood where you want to live. High end, high rents, high appreciation only, no slum areas, period! If you can find a trendy area, near food/bars etc will be beneficial. Also consider the people that live in this area. Do you understand them? Can you relate/communicate with them and their situation? Consider who your competitors are in the neighborhood. What are you up against? Is there something you can offer with your unit that others can't?

Property Condition and Loans - Use the bank