House hacking success stories in Denver \ Boulder

7 Replies

It would be interesting to hear some stories from people who have house hacked in Denver area \ Boulder. Numbers, unique situations, Airbnb, renting rooms, lessons learned, property type, areas, analysis, etc. Anything you feel like sharing.

I got my start house hacking in Gunbarrel in 2003. In retrospect that was like striking gold, but at the time REI veterans we're telling me the time had already passed to invest, (much like today). Any time is a good time to get in to front strange real estate, and house hacking is a great way to slide that foot in the door.

Talk to @ craig curelop or @ chris lopez. Denverinvestmentrealestate.com has a bunch of case studies on the subject as well. 

@Steve K. That is pretty interesting, I’m glad it ya worked out for you.

I'm a software engineer down in Boulder, currently living in Greeley saving money. I'm torn between buying a SFH further east in Westminster or Arvada, or maybe looking into a condo \ townhome in Boulder \ Louisville \ superior \ broomfield since I can't afford single family properties in those areas. My main worry is putting 3-400 into a condo \ townhome and still being able to hack it. Do you have any insight being from the Boulder area?

Thanks Steve

Originally posted by @Mathew Fuller :

I'm a software engineer down in Boulder, currently living in Greeley saving money. I'm torn between buying a SFH further east in Westminster or Arvada, or maybe looking into a condo \ townhome in Boulder \ Louisville \ superior \ broomfield since I can't afford single family properties in those areas. My main worry is putting 3-400 into a condo \ townhome and still being able to hack it. Do you have any insight being from the Boulder area?

Thanks Steve