Why are so many new investors looking for out-of-state properties

123 Replies

Every day in the forums it's the same thing. "I'm just getting started and I've analyzed a ton of deals (never seen any in real life) in several markets that are nowhere near where I live because where I live there aren't any good deals."

Here are some things to consider:

- Do you want to learn about REI or just be a passenger on someone else's plane? If you want to learn about REI, you aren't going to learn anything by investing in a first deal out-of-state. You could make money, but you will have no more knowledge of what it actually takes to be a better investor since you haven't seen any deals in person. And your entire investment will be managed and reviewed and maintained by someone you probably don't know very well.

- Why do you think there are no deals around your area? There are, you just don't know how to find them. If your 10-mile radius is overpriced, go up to 30 miles. You can't tell that within 30 miles of anywhere there isn't an up-and-coming area that has yet to hit its peak with deals available. Learn how to find local deals instead of hopping on the train of everyone who wants to sell you swampland in the Everglades for a great price.

- If this is going to be the single biggest investment in your life to-date, which most likely it is since you are new, why do you want to do this out-of-state and out-of-mind? What other investments are like this?