Where to start? Seems impossible to break in to this

76 Replies

It seems like this is an impossible task with both limited funds and time. I work full time and with a kid in day care, how do you have the time and money to buy, rehab, and rent a multi family building?

What’s the best way to become financially independent?

@Jeff Adams you don't have time and money to do all of that. Rehabbing takes a lot of time and money. You should consider buying a turn-key property from a tired landlord. Ask for seller financing, otherwise seek traditional lending. It's the cheapest way to borrow money.

Hey @Anthony Dooley , I am also new to REI. Working on building an effective "funnel" for leads. You mentioned searching local tax records, how exactly do you go about doing this? And how do you get in contact with these people after finding them?

@Josh Rodriguez most cities, town, and municipalities have online access to search property tax records. Your tax assessor/collector website should have a link. The tax records have the mailing address of the owner. Direct mail to them, especially if they live out of town or out of state. You can also use whitepages.com to search them and get a phone number. This is the most inexpensive way. Others will purchase lists online for a few hundred dollars from companies like List Source.

@Jeff Adams , it is a competitive market and as a part time investor you will be competing with full time investors who specialize in sourcing deals. Take some time to figure out whether you want to compete at this level, with a full time job and a kid.