Should I keep trying the MLS - Offers not getting accepted

48 Replies

Hi yall, real estate newbie here. For the past 6 weeks, I've been making offers for properties on the MLS at asking price or above. A lot of the times, seller's agent doesn't even respond, and if they do they let me know they have multiple offers. Is it still worth looking on the MLS, or am I better off trying to get off-market deals? Any thoughts?

@Victor Oben  

Off market is always best. The MLS is super competitive. Everyone can see it. Multiple offers usually kills the investor. It doesn't mean you can't find deals on the MLS but know your going to have fierce competition. I try to find properties on the MLS that are old; 6 months or longer. I have bought properties in the past year from my local small banks. They sit on properties that they have foreclosed (REO). No competition and you can find good deals. You will probably need to buy with cash as there pretty beat up. There great for flips or BRRRR.

There's no point bidding as an investor on MLS properties in the first week with everyone else. You want to look for the ones that get to 30 days and then like @Kenneth Garrett said, 4-6 months can be great, as well as an alert for all properties that come back on market after a failed deal. Those are super ripe because you can often hop into the pending transaction if you are quick enough as they don't want to do the whole thing again just to get screwed. I mail a lot of markets for off-market, but we still buy on the MLS in one of the hottest markets in NJ. We just pick the properties that others missed.

I agree - I like the 30 plus days. Additionally, if I offered previously and the answer was No, I go back and offer again 3 - 4 weeks later and keep repeating until it sells to someone else or we can at least get into a counter offer situation. I try to invest as little time and emotion into the offers as necessary....that way I can do more and it disappoints me less.