To be or not to be.. A realtor

19 Replies

Hello, BP family! 

I have been surrounding myself with real estate since November of last year. I have learned many things a long the way. One thing for sure is that you will learn very quickly whether real estate is for you or not! The more that I get into it the more I fall in love with it! I am currently a wholesaler looking to make money in order to do my own investments. I work part time as a teller, but I am considering getting my real estate license. I wanted to ask you guys from experience, would you recommend getting the license and joining a team? I know that everyone's situation is different, but in general would you say that it helped you in the long run or set you back?

Thank you guys in advance!!!

@James Munoz this is a big question for sure. Since you have experience and enjoy real estate thats a good start! Some questions to ask yourself would be this

1. If you made $30,000/year being a realtor would you still be happy?

2. Do you enjoy sales?

The reason for question 1 is to make sure your becoming an agent because you truly love it, I know agents making $200k+, but they're doing it firstly because they love it, not because they're money hungry.

The second question is obvious, being an agent is sales, its selling people on a deal, a buyer, a seller. If you are naturally inclined to sell then you will do well!

My last piece of advice is to find a brokerage that focuses on mentorship. I became an agent at Reafco Brokerage here in Columbus. From day 1 they taught me, how to cold call, what to say when a client says this or that. It was a huge proponent in getting me started on the right foot!

@Steven Wilson

Thank you for the reply! That helps a lot! Seeking mentorship is great advice. I see you are in Columbus. If you are ever looking to venture out to, Houston for some investing, let’s link up! Until then, thank you for the advice and best of luck to you in the future!