Getting started with $200k - what would you do first?

6 Replies

Hello - I am in my early thirties and have now paid off all of my debts and built up about $250k in savings. I am very new to this but I think I'm ready to put about $200k into my first real estate investment.

What would you do with that much money to start with? What should I look into first? 

@Russell Welch Hi Russell, Congrats on putting yourself in this position and saving & eliminating debt. I guess I would start with - What is it you want out of REI? Is it a steady cash flow (buy and hold), more immediate returns (fix & flip) or something else. Each involves its own set of activity by you and can range from pretty passive ie turnkey to much more involvement on your part. Once you know that I'd start diving into that strategy and building out a plan.

Thank you, @Justin Schreibeis ! I have a busy full-time job so it would have to be pretty passive. I am looking for somewhere to park my savings long term (and I can add about $4k to that pot per month). My very preliminary understanding is I will get better returns over the long term putting money into real estate than I'd likely get from the stock market (including the tax incentives, appreciation, etc.).

Ideally I’d use these gains for long-term things like kids tuition and retirement. I would certainly welcome monthly cash flow from rent payments, but my work income is high enough that it’s not my main goal.

Does that sound like real estate investing is worth looking into for my situation (in general, of course)? 

@Russell Welch