Thinking about Leaving California

9 Replies

Hi all, This is my 1st post on BP! Im looking into selling our primary residence a Single Family home in San Diego CA. My goal is to sell our home and defer taxes using 1031 exchange or section 121 ( I'm not sure which is correct for my situation) take the proceeds to 

1. Buy a new primary residence in a new less expensive less dense market 

2. Purchase 1st MFR rental property

I'd like to accomplish all this while moving to a city where I can raise my young multi-ethnic family that's accustom to a Starbucks and Target on every corner. I'd love to hear thoughts on potential markets. Thanks!

Hey @Chris Brown

Welcome to BP, nice to meet you on here. I'm a local realtor here in San Diego that also invests in properties out of state. If you are selling your primary residence you may not have to pay any capital gains tax.

Lots of different factors at play when it comes to choosing where to invest and even more when deciding where to move. Feel free to connect and I can give you my thoughts about investing out of state. 

@Chris Brown

There is moving out of state and investing out of state, sound like you’re considering doing both! Investing out of state you can do from SD or whatever city you end up moving to. Moving out of state think about what you want - diversity, weather, international airport, mountains, etc. for investing out of state look at numbers for living out of state pick what you like. There are a lot of cool cities in America I’ve been exposed to investing out of state myself!

@Lee Ripma thanks for the insight. I'd like to combine both of those ideas, a place with all our wants (Bend Oregon but a little more diverse) and where the numbers make sense from an investing standpoint. Thats not shade on Bend I've only been looking at internet statistics on poverty demographics.

Originally posted by @Chris Brown :