Wholesaling double escrow Question

9 Replies

I'm a beginner wholesaler in Ohio and my attorney said that in order to do an assignment I need funds to close on the property initially then if I want I can assign the contract to an end buyer. I'm just starting so I don't have Funds available. So instead of doing an assignment could I do a dry double escrow Closing where the end buyer will bring funds to close both AB and CB transactions? 

Do I have to bring wet Funds to close the AB transaction or can the buyer fund both transactions?

Originally posted by @Ben Sears :

I'm a beginner wholesaler in Ohio and my attorney said that in order to do an assignment I need funds to close on the property initially then if I want I can assign the contract to an end buyer. I'm just starting so I don't have Funds available. So instead of doing an assignment could I do a dry double escrow Closing where the end buyer will bring funds to close both AB and CB transactions? 

Do I have to bring wet Funds to close the AB transaction or can the buyer fund both transactions?

Great question. I was talking to a Wholesaler yesterday about this very issue. First - follow the advice of your attorney! But, I don't think he has funding available for his wholesale opportunities, but could get them if he can't find a buyer. In other words, the risk is great if you don't have access to funds. Good luck! What part of Ohio are you working in?

You can use transactional funding so you never have to have the money. 

Here is a good video The Ohio Division of Real Estate made about wholesaling in Ohio https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9fi54S8nwUA https://www.com.ohio.gov/real/

Thanks for the response! I'm from Columbus Ohio. Do you know any title companies in Columbus that do double escrows?

Yes I do