How did you quit your job

13 Replies

For anyone that was able to quit their 9-5 and move full time into real estate (or something else) I'm curious to hear your stories.  How did it play out?  What was it like?  How long did it take?  What did you learn?  I've set goals around this and looking for inspiration from people that have done it.

I didn't. I let RE investing be an ancillary career to my regular career, until it eventually overtook my career financially. I still never left my career but will retire much earlier because of my RE than would have happened otherwise. 

@Josh Butler Directly out of college I owned two bed and breakfasts back to back for 24 years. Along the way to pay for our health insurance (partner and self) which had crept up to $1400 a month pre-Obamacare I took on a W-2. I have been doing that for 9 years now simultaneously while running the second B&B which I sold a year ago.

My goal is to retire on my birthday in about 5 years. I currently work an overnight shift where some nights I have about 30 minutes of work then 7.5 hours to myself and other nights I have the whole 8 hours to myself. I read, listen to podcasts, and learn. It is time well spent.

I have some property that is paid off and others with mortgages. My goal is to start paying off the mortgages and eventually have enough for a comfortable retirement.

I read all the Rich Dad Books when they first came out. I wish BiggerPockets had existed when I was 20. I had a great lifestyle in my 20s and 30s. Now I’m playing catch-up. Fortunately I’m getting there one building at a time. You can too!

Promotion
Vacasa
Vacation Rental Property Management
We do the work. You get the ROI.
We do it all for your vacation rental. All—marketing, pricing, guest requests, housekeeping & more.
Free income estimate