Making Investor Offers

8 Replies

Long time reader...first time poster   :)

I am a real estate agent. I am looking at making offers in the investor arena. However, I am a bit nervous about making offers at lower prices.

Do y'all call the listing agents before you make the offer? Every Offer?

Do y'all worry about what the listing agent will say when they receive a "low" offer? 

Any encouragement/advice about making these types of offers would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Brandon

Originally posted by @Brandon S. :

Long time reader...first time poster   :)

I am a real estate agent. I am looking at making offers in the investor arena. However, I am a bit nervous about making offers at lower prices.

No need to be nervous.  You do the math, and the numbers will tell you what is an appropriate price to pay for a cash-flow (note: it may be zero, in which case, you do not pen the offer).

Do y'all call the listing agents before you make the offer? Every Offer?

If you mean, "Do I give the agent a heads-up that I'm putting in a lower offer than retail" ... no, we just prepare out offer and send it along.

Do y'all worry about what the listing agent will say when they receive a "low" offer? 

No.  The offer is for the vendor, not the listing agent.  The agent has a duty to take the offer to the vendor.

Any encouragement/advice about making these types of offers would be greatly appreciated.

Just do the math and make offers which make sense and cents (or, better, dollars).

Updated over 3 years ago

BTW: Welcome to BP!

Updated over 3 years ago

BTW: Welcome to BP!

@Brandon S.  .  I do agree that an analysis needs to be run before putting the offer together so you know what to offer.