Be careful

9 Replies

BP is a great site w/ lots of information and resources out there.  However, no matter how great of a job everyone does here, there will always be those looking to take advantage of others.  I am not going to say if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is, but if someone is unable to answer simple questions, avoid your concerns, or is requesting money without giving you all of the information you would need- Be careful.

@Pete T.  ,

Anyone in particular we should be aware of?

Sound advice either way!

EVERYONE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR THEIR OWN DUE DILIGENCE!!

AND NOT SURPRISINGLY, DON'T RELY ON A STRANGER ON THE INTERNET TO MAKE YOUR INVESTMENT DECISIONS!! MEET AND DO YOUR OWN DUE DILIGENCE!!

and don't rely on someone in person either! I've been investing for many years and even I have fallen prey to unethical swindlers because i got busy with other projects and I "trusted" them to do what they promised. There are people who will see you are busy or looking the other way.....or that you are new in the game....and they will seize the opportunity to take advantage of the moment, without ever giving thought to the future, or the consequences. ALWAYS perform your own due diligence and check up on your projects regularly. Dont accept excuses and trust your gut.

Some have already been kicked out and others I wouldnt call out myself on this forum, but I do forward anything by anyone that I believe is shady to @Joshua Dorkin as this is his site and as someone else to confirm what I am seeing.  I have seen a few questionable people promoting themselves here however so I wanted to create this post for the protection of everyone.  Anyone that is legit should be able to field questions right here on the site IMO.

@Pete T.,

I agree you should report them, but the question do you have proof. They are shady not because they will not answer your questions in open forum, and most don't like to provide complete details in the open forum.

Joe Gore

Joe,