Representation While Purchasing Mobile Home Park

6 Replies

For those that have mobile home park experience did you go directly through the listing broker, or bring in your own broker/consultant? I am new to this segment, and it seems like the listing brokers are incentivized by taking both sides. On the residential side, a realtor has a fiduciary duty to act in their clients best interest. Is this similar in the commercial/mobile home park arena?

If you do bring in your own broker/consultant, what is your criteria and search pattern in a market you are not familiar with?

Originally posted by @Tevis Verrett :

Very good question OP, I would be interested in learning your thots also.  Getting the popcorn. . .

Haha! I have strong feelings on the topic of bringing in your own agent on the residential side of RE. It's obviously a gamble when you deal directly with the listing agent as they are "making best attempt" to share their fiduciary duties. The gamble can definitely pay off because the agent is incentivized to sell to you, because they get both sides of the commission. Perhaps you can even write the offer a little bit lower and ask the L.A. to lower his commission a few points. I do this quite often but don't suggest it to others simply because of the increased risk factor.

Whats your take on this from a mobile home park perspective? 

I do think the increased due diligence period on a commercial property like a MHP may smooth out some of the associated risk of a dual agency simply because you have time to do great due diligence/inspections/underwriting......But thats just a guess.