Skip the Buyer's agent?

29 Replies

I just received an advice from a friend that says: "The market is too hot, ditch your buyer's agent. Just get a RE attorney to make sure your offer is safe and go to the open houses yourself informing the seller's agent that you're a private buyer not represented by an agent. All the info you need is out there (mls) and run the comps yourself. That will give you a competitive advantage as the seller's agent would probably favor you"

Not the most ethical advice I would say but thought I'll throw it out there and see what the pros think about it.

I have a really good realtor that provides me with a lot of security, info, and works tirelessly to educate me on the process, but I could not help about think about it for a second.

I'm a licensed Realtor/investor in Texas, and I think that if you know what you are doing, and understand contracts and know how to do your own comps, then more power to you. It will be quicker process since you don't have to involve another agent; however, most Realtor would like for you to be represented, sure they like the extra commission, but not the risk of having a customer instead of a client.

There is no ethic issue of skipping the buyer's agent, unless you have solicited his/her service in the deal.

This is possibly the WORST ADVICE EVER!!

Always use a Realtor for the following reasons:

1.) They are FREE to the buyer

2.)They do ALL of the leg work so you can crunch numbers and be the investor

3.)They are so much more knowlegable because they do this every day

Get a good realtor, get 10! BUT NEVER GO IT ALONE!

Unless your selling, then they are too expensive and you can figure that part out on your own! LOL

Cheers!

What exactly is the up-side this "friend" pointed out to ditching your agent?