My scenario and your advice

4 Replies

Hello BPers,

I really do enjoy reading your post and also your blog. I wanted your take on my situation.

Monthly income is 6000. Expenses is 3000. Stopped 401 k contribution up to employer match.

With this, how do start a buy and hold strategy?

My wife will be finishing residency soon and we know she will be bringing in three times what I make now but I wanted to start REI now so I will master it and when she is done with residency and I can be a full time investor. I have prequalified for loans at 4.8. % with 90LVT on homepath homes or 20% down for all other homes up to 10 homes a lender. I have really researched a lot about REI and read many books and asked so many questions. I know am ready to pull the trigger but cash money is holding me back. I am a new medical professional and sent a lot of money to my homeland and thus less less savings. There are numerous turn key homes the market am looking at and many are the usual 3:2 @70000 and comp rent are 900 to 1100. Great school districts. All advice and criticisms welcomed.

Thank you.

Save the 3K per month, bring deals to an investor, borrow against the 401K or convert it to a self directed/solo account. Best of luck.

Only you can decide what level of risk you are willing to take. Since you can find houses that make you more than your cost of money you can use as much leverage as you are comfortable. If I could save $3,000 per month plus the money my wife would soon be making I would create an emergency fund of $15,000 to $30,000 and then start saving to pay cash for my first house. I might use leverage later when I can afford it.

this is a marathon, not a sprint.

Good Luck.

Bill

@Nana K.  

Welcome to BP!  You have certainly come to the right place. My advice to you is this:

Start small.