First meeting with a Wholesaler. Advice?

14 Replies

I am meeting with a wholesaler, which I have never done before, and going to look at properties that I may be interested in purchasing.  

It seems that many investors work with wholesalers, is this true?  If you have worked with wholesalers, what have your experiences been like?  Positive or negative?  

What advice would you give to someone just starting out?  Questions I should ask?  Things to be aware of?

Thanks so much!

Bring a gun and a spade?  I kid, I kid.  Sorta.

But no, just remember that unless you are meeting one of the tiny number of real professionals in that field, you almost certainly know more than they do about your market, rehab costs, etc.

And you're the customer.  Demand justification for every claim, and if they quote a repair cost, question their basis/experience for making that claim.

I have been on the "buy this" side of their pitches only a couple times (on the "sell to me" side much more often, for whatever reason. which is funny because I have made my purchases for cash, and looking for people who do that is a common piece of advice given to wannaby wholesalers to build a buyers' list.)  Neither of those guys had anything remotely interesting, they were at full retail and more.  

So I guess I have little to actually add, and just wanted a chance to make my gun and spade joke.  Some self-awareness on a rainy morning.

Good luck.

My browser does let me do the tagging a user thing, but look up Shaun Reilly. He both rehabs and wholesales and I'm pretty sure he is a also from Newton.