Should I get my Real Estate license?

8 Replies

Hello everyone, I'm new to BP and I'm so glad something like BP exists. What a great resource. My wife and I own one duplex so far and looking to get more. I'm thinking about getting my Real estate license also.

My question is, is a RE license a good thing to get for a RE investor? Pros? Cons? How many RE investors have there RE license?
I'd love some feed back. ~Adam

Adam, no replies in an hour, probably because there are at least a thousand posts on this topic, might search.

I suggest everyone going into RE go take a class for agents to get the basics of RE so they have a clue as to what goes on instead of all the guru crap. At least buy the book put out for your state. After the class, you'll know if getting the license is the thing for you to do. :)

The advantage of the license is that you'll learn some of the basics of real estate, and after you have your license you'll be able to hang it somewhere where you will be able to access comps.  Another advantage is that you may be able to get part of the commission by representing yourself.

One of the cons is that you have to disclose your license to buyers and sellers, and on your signs, etc.  That shouldn't be that big of deal to most buyers or sellers.  And there will be plenty of fees to pay depending on your location.  

It's not a bad way to start.  That's how I started.

Adam Worth 

welcome to the site.

I'd recommend it. It can be a huge asset for multiple reasons.

Adam Worth - I think it's a good idea considering the cost is nominal. 

I'm looking to get my shortly.  The benefits are I can go see a property whenever I want and make offers on my own behalf! 

"The cost is nominal" - depending on where you are, and also your definition of nominal.

When it was all said and done, it cost me about $2500 and 80 hours of learning, test prep, and stress to get licensed.  For us, $2500 was a significant portion of the cash we are starting with.