Detroit

44 Replies

I'm very new to this and have only recently started researching real estate investment, so please excuse my ignorance (as this post will probably be riddled with it). My childhood best friend and I are in the process of research so that we can go in on a rental property together (him and I both have a little bit of capital to pool together), and as we're searching for a good place for our first property (we're currently leaning towards Houston area), I was wondering if Detroit is worth touching with a 10 foot pole? Thing is that him and I only have about 30-30K in which to invest and we're both college students, so we don't have a steady income with which to take out a conventional bank loan. Just looking for some insight on how to stretch our capital as far as possible. Him and I are anxious to get our feet wet, but obviously want to avoid making any major mistakes. Any insight would be greatly appreciated!

Corey,

I'm fairly new myself but I learn the hard way about misplaced anxious energy. Your doing the right think, ask around. First I would say start in your backyard. If your low on cash it feels good to be able to drive by your investment. Also, if things go not so to plan (and this happens) you can keep an eye on your asset as you learn new ways out of the pitfall. Worst case you can crash in the place...

Detroit is a gold mine for someone with strategies for Detroit conditions and a money pit to anyone with easy money ideas. Here I say really really test your strategy for the market.

Property near colleges have high cashflow potential. Buy something you can easily sublease the rooms with living, dining, basement as common areas with coin operated laundry... JV with someone looking to invest in your area and manage the deal...

My 2 cents. hope it helps.

Korey,