FHA Duplex loan

4 Replies

Hey guys first post here so I'll treat this as an introduction as well and then get on to my question. I am currently a property manager with a management company here in Lexington, KY and will soon have my RE license ( just have the exam left). 

I am wanting to get my first investment deal going and after some research and thought I feel that a duplex is what will suit me best. I am wondering if anybody has went through with the "FHA duplex" loan that they offer? Is it fairly common to obtain? I will of course be occupying one side and renting the other. Id like to find a place around here, or we are really wanting to move to Savannah, GA and my thought is if i decided to move it would really benifit to have the extra support with tenants rent.

Thanks for all of you guys help, and if any local investor needs any help or would like to pass on some knowledge I'm up for it!

@Shae Dean ,

I bought a 4plex for $375K with an FHA loan for my first purchase, when I only qualified for about a $250K SFH. 3.5% down. Good rate. Even with mortgage insurance, a great deal, IMHO. Would go back and do it again, no doubt.

As long as it's not in very poor condition, roof in tact, no health and safety hazards, it should mostly be OK. Always need smoke detectors, carbon monoxide detectors, and a strapped hot water heater for appraisal also, in CA. Check your local stuff with an RE agent or local loan broker..

As long as it's not a condo, meets the condition requirements, and you qualify, you should be able to get one. There are lots of restrictions & pre-approval for FHA needed with condos. But not so with SFH, duplex, or 4plex. For mine, and typically, they count 75% of existing rents for your income qualification.