Newbie investor to the rhode island area

9 Replies

Good afternoon. My name is CJ and I'm currently in the military in Florida. I'm going to be relocating to the Newport, Rhode Island area to retire. I plan to start investing in this area. Having never been to Rhode Island are there any suggestions on good market areas to get started in and maybe some areas to avoid? I appreciate any advise. Thank you.

Hey CJ - I'm an investor and realtor here in RI. I live in South Kingstown, which is about 20 minutes from Newport. There's a lot of options for investing here, it just depends on your overall strategy and goals. There are vacation rentals, college rentals, regular blue collar rentals, etc. Is there anything in particular that you're looking for? Are you planning on using a VA loan for the investment? Tell us about your goals and we might be able to point you in a particular direction.

Lyndsey,

Good to meet you. I will be transferring to the Newport area for my last tour before I retire from the Navy. I'm working on getting my Real Estate investing business off the ground so I have something to walk into when I do retire. I'm planning on making real estate investing my full time business. My wife and I would like to start with single family rental properties to get passive income coming in. Not sure if we are going to use our VA loan just yet. we certainly have that option. It depends on the sale of our primary residence down here in Florida. I plan to get things going this time next year once we get moved and settled in. In the mean time I will be working on getting the business groundwork solid. we will be looking at both blue collar rentals and also play around with college rentals. I know they can be lucrative. I will also look into possibly getting my license while I'm at it. I appreciate your assistance an any advice you can provide. I would love to get together for coffee in about a year and introduce myself and talk business. Thanks again for the contact.