Should I get a professional inspection

8 Replies

I am new to real estate investing.  I have an offer on 2 Fourplexes right now and am wondering if I should pay for professional inspections.  They are approximately $1000.00 for each.

My agent has gone with me to inspect the properties and they look pretty good.  

Thanks in a advance.

Originally posted by @Nick Vorves :

I am new to real estate investing.  I have an offer on 2 Fourplexes right now and am wondering if I should pay for professional inspections.  They are approximately $1000.00 for each.

Thanks in a advance.

Yes.  I own 30+ properties, and because I am an agent I have been on hundreds of inspections.  It is pretty rare for the inspector to find anything I have not already pointed out to the client.  But I still get inspections and I still recommend all my client's get inspections. 

I just had one this week, the previous buyer fell through and the agent gave us the report that buyer did from a few weeks ago, I encouraged my client to still get his own (which he did)

Brie Schmidt, Real Estate Agent in Illinois (#471.018287) and Wisconsin (#57846-90)

I absolutely get an inspection every time.  Some things they have found that I wouldn't have known about is improper grading in the front yard which is causing water intrusion issues and foundation shifts and the electrical being out of code due to it's age.  I wouldn't have known about either if I didn't have an inspection done.

Originally posted by @Nick Vorves :

Thanks in a advance.