Thoughts on house hacking !!

15 Replies

I’m  fairly new to real estate investing.I am a plumber.  And I’ve been reading and researching about house hacking. Seems very do able and also profitable. Do you guys think that would make a great first rental property.? Cons and pros?

Thanks in advance guys!

Do it.
Pros:
Tenant pays your mortgage
You live for free or at least very cheap
Helps you build a relationship with a bank for future deals if you do financing
Gets the first deal out of the way so you're not scared to keep going.

Cons:
Have to live next to a tenant
Will be hard to separate yourself as the landlord (only matters if you want to be seen as the "manager)

I'm sure others will have things to add too.

@Jerry Cinor

House hacking is great if you don't mind living in the same vicinity as your tenants. 

You can apply for an FHA loan, and if you are approved you put next to nothing down (3-4% on average). You would also only have to live there for a year after the loan closes.

The only trouble is finding a multifamily property at the right price in todays market. Depending on your area, it may be hard to find, as many are getting into multifamily for the reasons you've stated.

All in all I think that it would make for a great first investment experience for you.

Best of luck! 

Yes I’m trying to get my first deal and keep going up from there. Since I don’t have any major responsibilities. And a decent paying job. I feel like now is the time. I’m pretty handy as well. I live in Florida and see some decent deals.”at least to me”.  3/3 for as low as 160k. Decent neighborhood.

thanks Brother!
Originally posted by @Aaron Van Curen :

Do it.
Pros:
Tenant pays your mortgage
You live for free or at least very cheap
Helps you build a relationship with a bank for future deals if you do financing
Gets the first deal out of the way so you're not scared to keep going.

Cons:
Have to live next to a tenant