Potential Screaming Deal... Not sure how to proceed.

38 Replies

So I'm new to REI. I have a relative who I overheard talking about a prior employees mother whose house was filled to the rafters with junk and the didn't live there anymore. I drove by the house and there is trash on the front porch and when I looked in the back yard trash and junk in the back yard as well. However.... house is probably got about $200,000 to $250,000 equity in it if it is in good condition so I could possibly get a great deal. I utilized list source, zillow, trulia, amortization-calc. and other methods to determine this. Its right next to a few schools, a park, and crime is low in the area. I asked if he had her phone number and he does and I'm trying to make sure my ducks are in a row before calling.

Benefits I planned to market(Let me know if there is more or if these are wrong):

• Close on whatever date is best for her
  • I can worry about the repairs and hauling the trash
  • No Agent commission on closing

Here is what I don't know:

• How to propose an offer
  • If she bites on the offer what to do next
  • Well pretty much everything else as far as actually acquiring the property. 

I'm sure there a lot more things as well I don't know but this is what is my current road block to calling this owner. 

Any help would be much appreciated!!!!Thanks!

The first things you need to know in order to determine your offer are the ARV and the rehab costs.

The first thing you need to do is find out if it's even for sale lol

Right, yeah I know that. I'm think ARV is $380,000 but I haven't called the woman yet to see if she is interested in selling as I'm trying to make sure that I have everything in line that I want to accomplish in the phone call down. But provided the conversation goes good.... i don't know where to go from there and I need to understand what the timeline in these type of situations...

Like: