Question for Realtors

25 Replies

Hey guys - Quick question: our son is buying his first place (condo) and I talked to him last night about it. It's in escrow. Asked how things were going Etc....

He said that they really wanted to get in there just real quick to measure 2 rooms for new furniture they are buying, and their Realtor told them no, just wait until the walk-through.

I've bought/sold lots of houses and have never had a problem getting into a house during escrow, nor have I ever denied a buyer from getting in to measure when I was the seller.

What's your opinion on this? Are they being ignored because they're young and inexperienced? I'm guessing if I called, we'd be getting in today.... :-) (Trying to stay out of it and be a good dad)

@Bruce Woodruff , from experience as a realtor myself as well as purchasing many properties as a business owner I would absolutely insist that I gain access to the property again to complete the measurements.  There are many items that come up where the property is visited in escrow...inspections, estimates for repairs, appraisals and my clients needing some information about their large purchase would most definitely warrant another visit.  I understand with Covid and such that many brokerages have tried to limit exposure, but at the very least this agent should be willing to go and measure for them...at the minimum.

Absolutely no entry inside the property other than the times specified in the contract. Doing so often leads to problems, like buyers changing their minds and threatening to default on the contract and such. This is exactly why there is a contract in place that specifies when a buyer may access the property. 

Originally posted by @Russell Brazil :