Skip to content
Commercial Real Estate Investing

User Stats

Votes
Kris Benson
Pro Member
  • Roswell, GA
Votes |
Why Isn't Anyone Talking About Self Storage??

Kris Benson
Pro Member
  • Roswell, GA
Posted Apr 17 2018, 11:00

Just a quick disclaimer.  This is a really long post.  Also I am also now employed by a self storage operator so my opinion is probably is not objective.

I was a professional sale person who "retired" on 3/31/2018 to launch the investment arm of self storage business due to my belief in the fundamentals of this asset class.  I have invested my own capital in multifamily and I have successfully syndicated multifamily deals over the past 8 years.  That being said, I don't think we as investors as giving self storage its' due....

We have all seen the cap rates in commercial multifamily compress and as a syndicator it has been very challenging to find deals even with operators who have significant experience ($1Billion+ AUM) and leverage in the marketplace.  I am not saying they don't exist but certainly the environment has changed over the past 2 years.  

As I started to explore other asset classes to find returns for myself and my investors I came across self storage.   As savvy as the BP community is, nobody is talking about this asset class!  Here are the 4 reasons I think we should be:

1. Asset Class Returns:

According to the National Association of REIT (Real Estate Investment Trusts) the Self-Storage sector produced an average of 17.43% annual return from 1994-2017. For comparison here are the returns from other REIT sectors over the same time period. Self Storage outperforms apartments by 4+%

For illustration, let’s assume you invested $100,000 in each one of the REITS above in 1994. You also reinvested your annual returns back into the fund at the end of each year, creating a compounded return. What would that investment look like 23 Years later?

2. Downside Protection: